Last Chance to Reason – Level 2

November 14, 2011

Last Chance to Reason – Level 2
Genre: Progressive Metal/Metalcore
Released: 2011

I never know how to start these things.

Pretty cool album here. Never heard of these guys before, just found them through Wikipedia’s 2011 albums list. But goddamn, this band is VERY talented. I dunno who to compare them to, but yeah.

The lyrics are frequently pretty silly/lame, but I’ve just sort of come to expect that in progressive rock. From what I can tell, it’s a concept album about…a computer program or game or something coming to life, I guess. I don’t really know. As I said, the lyrics are usually pretty silly, though there are some cool moments here and there. But the guy can really fucking sing, scream, and growl really well. Or guys, I’m not really sure. Either way, it absolutely makes up for the lyrics.

The music…man, it’s just damn great. Lots of tempo shifts, time signature changes, dissonance, incredibly clean playing, and some awesome songwriting that provides for a lot of really cool moments. It should be noted that the drummer is fucking stellar. And there are a lot of really cool vocal harmonies that are very unconventional and sound awesome.

In general, this album is fucking great, and the only thing that really brings it down are the lyrics.

Rating: 8/10

Leave a comment